IR-4 SOAR Award Criteria

The IR-4 Project SOAR Award—Deadline August 31, 2017

SOAR Award Nomination Form

The IR-4 Project has established the SOAR award to recognize those individuals who excel in serving growers of Specialty and Minor Use Crops. The awardees will have demonstrated clear Service toward enhancing the mission of IR-4 through participation on committees, advisory panels, or similar activities; excellent Outreach to growers educating growers on IR-4; Altruism by donating time and effort towards IR-4’s mission; outstanding Research which contributes to expanded product labels and increased understanding of product use. In other words, awardees SOAR in supporting IR-4 and our mission to provide growers registrations of new and expanded pest management tools.

The SOAR award will be given to a limited number of individuals annually, but no award will be given if there are no eligible nominees during a particular year. Awardees can be anyone associated with the IR-4 Project except active PMC members and active full-time IR-4 personnel.

The selected awardee(s) will demonstrate excellence in 3 of the 4 elements:
Such as   Participation in standing committees and ad hoc committees
Participation in advisory panels
Participation in similar activities which enhance the direction and mission of IR-4

Such as   Consistent vocal supporter of IR-4 with growers and/or lawmakers
Routinely includes recognition of IR-4 in print and visual media elevating IR-4’s profile in the grower community

Such as   Donation of time, extra research, plant materials, etc

Such as   Participation in IR-4 Program for a minimum of 3 years
Consistently produces stellar and timely research
Research results contributed to new or enhanced product labels

The process to select awardee(s) will begin with a nomination made by peers or IR-4 personnel. Nominations must be made on the SOAR Award Nomination Form and be accompanied by a minimum of 2 letters of support from individuals other than the nominator. The SOAR award will be provided at a suitable venue.

Past Award Winners, click on their names to read the IR-4 Newsletter article about their award.
2011— John Ahrens, Lori Berger
2012 — Dan Botts pg7
2013 — Mike Benson pg 12
2014 — Joe DeFrancesco, Meg McGrath pg 3
2015 — Mary Hausbeck pg 7, Robin Bellinder given posthumously see her obituary
2016 — Brian Flood , David Monks, & Andrew Senesac pg 3