IR-4 Award Criteria

Guidelines for the Nomination and Selection of IR-4 Hall of Fame Awardees (Revised: 10/2007)

  1. This is the highest award made by IR-4. Only very significant contributions to the development and success of IR-4 over time should be recognized with this award.
  2. Anyone from any aspect of the program is eligible for the award. Nominations may be made at any time.  Nominations may be made for personnel from the private sector as well as the University system and the Federal government such as EPA and USDA. Nominee can no longer be actively involved with the IR-4 program.
  3. The nominees should have made outstanding contributions that have a direct relation to the success of the IR-4 program over a long period of time. This should not be considered as an award for longevity or for a single contribution.
  4. The outstanding contributions should be of a nature that they have resulted in one or more of the following:
    1. Increased program effectiveness
    2. Better management
    3. Increased productivity
    4. Establishment of liaisons or partnerships with cooperators that enhanced the program.
    5. Enhanced levels of recognition of IR-4 by stakeholders and/or the public.

Hall of Fame Nomination Form

Hall of Fame Recipients

    Charles Compton
    Edward Swift

    Harold Alford 
    Thomas Archer
    John Mahlsted 
    Howard Wilkowske 

    Virgil Freed 
    Baily Pepper 

    John Bourke 
    Duane Coyier 

    Robert Menges 
    TJ (Jack) Sheets

    Ken Dorschner 

    Willis Wheeler 

    Gene Carpenter 

    Richard Guest 

    Robert Libby

    Patricia Sarica 
    Taka Shibamoto 

    Ray Frank
    Hoyt Jamerson
    George Markle
    Neal Thompson 

    Bob Holm

    Chuck Mouer 

    Marion Miller 

    Rocky Lundy 
    Lois Rossi 

    Mary Duryea
    Robert Hollingworth
    Diane Infante 

    Paul Schwartz

Guidelines for the Nomination and Selection of National Recognition of Excellence Awardees (10/2007)

  1. It is intended that these should be very prestigious awards. They will only be presented at 3 year intervals at an appropriate national meeting of the IR-4 program.
  2. Prior to this national meeting, the PMC will establish an ad hoc nominating committee to solicit nominations for the award and develop formal nomination documents for consideration by the PMC.
  3. Nominees can be anyone associated with the program except that active members of the PMC are not eligible to receive the award. The number of nominees is not restricted, but a maximum of 3 persons will receive the award.
  4. The nomination must show evidence of outstanding achievements well beyond normal job performance where the achievements have resulted in a major positive impact on the IR-4 program.
  5. The award will take the form of an engraved plaque, special recognition at an award reception, and a sum of $1,000 from funding provided by IR-4 Headquarters. In addition, the nominating region or regions (including IR-4 Headquarters and ARS as regions in this regard) will provide funding for the awardee to attend the meeting.
  6. Once a person has been given this award, they are no longer eligible to receive it again.

Past National Recognition of Excellence Award Winners

  1. Nancy Ragsdale
  2. Marylee Ross
  3. Robin Federline
  4. Becky Sisco
  5. Roger Batts
  6. Sharon Benzen
  7. Joe Defrancesco
  8. Kathryn Homa

Guidelines for the Nomination and Selection of the IR-4 Regional Awardees (10/2007)

  1. The number, nature and criteria for these awards and the choice of awardees is at the discretion of each Region (including the ARS program and IR-4 Headquarters as Regions for the purpose of these awards).
  2. IR-4 HQ will provide at least $250 per Region annually to support these awards which may be used at the discretion of each Region.
  3. Award nominees can be anyone the Region chooses and the number of nominees is not restricted. The award is not restricted to personnel within the region/HQ.
  4. Personnel can be re-nominated but once they have received the award, they are not eligible to be nominated again for 3 years.
  5. If desired by a Region, their nominations will also be ratified by the PMC. In this case the PMC’s vote is deciding if the nomination is not ratified.


Meritorious Service Award

  1. Length of Service to IR-4
  2. Special service to IR-4
  3. Innovation in program development and implementation
  4. Scientific merit encompassing IR-4 contributions


Technical Service Award

For outstanding technical service to IR-4 programs over several years. Award should be made and evidence provided in the nomination of a sustained level of contributions to IR-4 that is clearly above what is considered normal and expected in the nominee’s position. Any type of technical contribution may be the basis of eligibility for the award.


The IR-4 Project SOAR Award—Deadline August 31, 2017

SOAR Award Nomination Form

The IR-4 Project has established the SOAR award to recognize those individuals who excel in serving growers of Specialty and Minor Use Crops. The awardees will have demonstrated clear Service toward enhancing the mission of IR-4 through participation on committees, advisory panels, or similar activities; excellent Outreach to growers educating growers on IR-4; Altruism by donating time and effort towards IR-4’s mission; outstanding Research which contributes to expanded product labels and increased understanding of product use. In other words, awardees SOAR in supporting IR-4 and our mission to provide growers registrations of new and expanded pest management tools.

The SOAR award will be given to a limited number of individuals annually, but no award will be given if there are no eligible nominees during a particular year. Awardees can be anyone associated with the IR-4 Project except active PMC members and active full-time IR-4 personnel.

The selected awardee(s) will demonstrate excellence in 3 of the 4 elements:
Such as   Participation in standing committees and ad hoc committees
Participation in advisory panels
Participation in similar activities which enhance the direction and mission of IR-4

Such as   Consistent vocal supporter of IR-4 with growers and/or lawmakers
Routinely includes recognition of IR-4 in print and visual media elevating IR-4’s profile in the grower community

Such as   Donation of time, extra research, plant materials, etc

Such as   Participation in IR-4 Program for a minimum of 3 years
Consistently produces stellar and timely research
Research results contributed to new or enhanced product labels

The process to select awardee(s) will begin with a nomination made by peers or IR-4 personnel. Nominations must be made on the SOAR Award Nomination Form and be accompanied by a minimum of 2 letters of support from individuals other than the nominator. The SOAR award will be provided at a suitable venue.

Past Award Winners, click on their names to read the IR-4 Newsletter article about their award.
2011— John Ahrens, Lori Berger
2012 — Dan Botts pg7
2013 — Mike Benson pg 12
2014 — Joe DeFrancesco, Meg McGrath pg 3
2015 — Mary Hausbeck pg 7, Robin Bellinder given posthumously see her obituary
2016 — Brian Flood , David Monks, & Andrew Senesac pg 3